Posted by: Jeremy Benisek (CyberAxe) Don't Panic Business Technologies | June 8, 2009

Every computer in my house is 64-bit, so I can’t make a bios update disk?

I’ve upgrade ever computer I have to Windows 7 7100 64-bit and was about to do another but the bios needs to be upgraded for my external USB player to work. NO big deal right.

So I visited Dell and started the process, found the drive downloaded it, they only have Floppy disk bios updates. No big deal I’ve got this down to a science, pulled out my USB floppy and started that process. Windows 7 installed perfectly so I thought man on my way. Well… I started the bios extra to floppy and format. here is the problem, the installer says put the disk in. No problem, I did and hit enter, but I get an error that says this is a 32-bit program running on a 64-bit system check with your OEM if you need a different program….

What? You’re kidding, I can’t make a boot disk with an bios update on ANY of my 5 64-bit systems. So I found my list 32-bit old junking running 7048 and try it. It says this isn’t a valid 32-bit exe? WTF?

So in short I can’t get my USB DVD player to boot Windows 7, I can’t upgrade the bios because none of my OS’s are 32-bit or work with the bios upgrader. Hmm.

Note: the current OS Windows XP loops at the AGP driver and doesn’t safe mode or last know boot or I’d just use it to make the disk and bios update.

Leave a Reply

Categories

